The Definitive FDR: Roosevelt: The Lion and the Fox (1882-1940) and Roosevelt: The Soldier of Freedom (1940-1945)

Written by:
James MacGregor Burns
Narrated by:
David Stifel

Unabridged Audiobook

Release Date
May 2022
58 hours 5 minutes
Franklin Delano Roosevelt was the longest serving president in US history, reshaping the country during the crises of the Great Depression and World War II. James MacGregor Burns's magisterial two-volume biography tells the complete life story of the fascinating political figure who instituted the New Deal.

Roosevelt: The Lion and the Fox (1882-1940): Before his ascension to the presidency, FDR laid the groundwork for his unprecedented run with decades of canny political maneuvering and steady consolidation of power. Hailed by the New York Times as 'a sensitive, shrewd, and challenging book' and by Newsweek as 'a case study unmatched in American political writings,' The Lion and the Fox details Roosevelt's youth and education, his rise to national prominence, all the way through his first two terms as president.

Roosevelt: The Soldier of Freedom (1940-1945): The Pulitzer Prize and National Book Award-winning history of FDR's final years examines the president's skillful wartime leadership as well as his vision for postwar peace. Acclaimed by William Shirer as 'the definitive book on Roosevelt in the war years,' and by bestselling author Barbara Tuchman as 'engrossing, informative, endlessly readable,' The Soldier of Freedom is a moving profile of a leader gifted with rare political talent in an era of extraordinary challenges.
1 book added to cart
View Cart