The Selection

Written by:
Kiera Cass
Narrated by:
Amy Rubinate

Unabridged Audiobook

Ratings
Book
463
Narrator
84
Release Date
April 2012
Duration
8 hours 8 minutes
Summary
Fall in love—from the very beginning. Discover the first book in the captivating, #1 New York Times bestselling Selection series.

Prepare to be swept into a world of breathless fairy-tale romance, swoonworthy characters, glittering gowns, and fierce intrigue perfect for readers who loved Divergent, Delirium, or The Wrath & the Dawn.

For thirty-five girls, the Selection is the chance of a lifetime. The opportunity to escape a rigid caste system, live in a palace, and compete for the heart of gorgeous Prince Maxon. But for America Singer, being Selected is a nightmare. It means turning her back on her secret love with Aspen, who is a caste below her, and competing for a crown she doesn’t want.

Then America meets Prince Maxon—and realizes that the life she’s always dreamed of may not compare to a future she never imagined.

Don’t miss The Betrothed, a glittering royal romance sure to captivate Kiera Cass’s legion of loyal readers and lovers of courtly intrigue alike!
Reviews
Profile Avatar
Anonymous

Story would have been better with a better narrator. She speaks like a monotoned robot. It was like having Siri read the book.

Profile Avatar
Erin Z.

Good story but had so much more promise. It was difficult to tolerate or follow such an all over the place heroine. All that aside I still needed to know what happens. Narrator is good but a bit monotone at times

Profile Avatar
Anonymous

The book is AMAZING but the narrator kinda ruins it

Profile Avatar
Rachel R.

I enjoyed it enough to rate it 4 stars and move on to the second book...

Profile Avatar
Kelty G

Loved this series and the narrator was great! I have listened to this series twice!!

Profile Avatar
Jaime Kelley

The narrators voice drives me crazy. But I loved the book.

Profile Avatar
tamara montgomery

Absolutely loved it. It stays wide open at the end, so if you hate waiting, you might not want to listen to it for a couple of years

Profile Avatar
Penny J.

This a wonderful book. It reminds me of The Hunger Games with less violence and a very scaled down version of The Handmaidens Tale. Perfect for the girl teen and one who likes a good book with proper reading and no cussing and disrespectfulness.

Profile Avatar
Julene S.

Such a great read. The narrator did a splendid job and definitely delivered!

Profile Avatar
Millie

In love with this series. The books had me drawn in all day at work. The stories teach lessons and actually inspired me to stand up for myself a little bit more. It also didn’t focus solely on romance, as it added additional story in the plot!

Profile Avatar
Tara W.

wonderful book and the narrator really kept me interested and listening!

Profile Avatar
Anonymous

Love it! Hope they make a tv series or movie soon.

Profile Avatar
Anonymous

great story. good narrator

Profile Avatar
Kiana U.

Great book!

Profile Avatar
Kara Miller

it's ok kinda slow.

Profile Avatar
Kennedy S.

This book is just as good the second time!

Profile Avatar
Madison C

Great book!

Profile Avatar
Eric B

LOVE this book series i could read it so many times

Profile Avatar
Camryn Julie P

it is a good story,and i hope it Will get better and better!

Profile Avatar
Riya J

I really liked it...I am starting the Elite as soon as possible. I love Maxon and the narrator's voice.

Profile Avatar
Pamela Harrison

Where can I locate the book that follows this book? 5 stars yes! I enjoyed all of it.?

Profile Avatar
meaghan norby

I love the narrator and the book!! This is a great series.

Profile Avatar
Hannah Makins

Loved it! Pulls you in right away. Great story that keeps you wanting more!

Profile Avatar
Mari Salter

This was an excellent read! The writing kept you guessing what was going to happen next. In addition, it is so nice when there is romance without it being over the top or something coming from the gutter. The author knows how to create a credible world with the feeling of "this could be us one day."

Profile Avatar
Natalie Dobson

Helped keep me awake on a 10 hour drive. I downloaded the next book for the drive back. I would categorize this as fluff. Fun, check your brain at the door, fluff.

Profile Avatar
Kristin Hoy

I really like this book! It is a futuristic, diplomatic version of The Bachelor! It is filled with details and humor! However, the narrator takes away from the story. She reads like Siri and does not use good voice inflection and diction.

Profile Avatar
Pamela Brown

i love this book so much, listened for 4 hours straight for 2 nights. im so happy that there is like 4 or 5 books left!! if anyone likes romance and drama, this is the book for you!

Profile Avatar
Laura Como

I love the characters. This is the second time I've read this book. I'd read it again.

Profile Avatar
Whitlee Wilhems

Amazing book but narrator seems a bit stiff and robotic. But throughout the book seems to loosen a bit. Great book though :)

Profile Avatar
Brittany Barrett

Good book. The narrator needs to work on her men's voices!

Profile Avatar
Darryl Carrington

This was a good book. I really in joyed it. I will love reading it again.

Profile Avatar
Coleman Brandt

I love it. it is a good book. at first I thought I would not like it but it turns out I loved it so much that I could not stop.

Profile Avatar
Gillian Francis

The book is great, I love the idea and it made for a great read, but the narrator really took away from the book. I've read it before and listening to it I felt like she's cold reading and not emphasizing the important parts. The book is good if you read it and the narrator takes away from that.

Profile Avatar
Laura Atkins

Couldn't stop listening. It's a "page turner". I wait for to finish the series to see what happens next!

Profile Avatar
Samantha Anhalt

I thought the book was predictable but light and fun. The narrator, however, is flat and has a strange way of pulling out her syllables at the end of sentences that is difficult to listen to.

Profile Avatar
Sarah Dawson

I loved the progression of this book and am listening to the second now!

Profile Avatar
Morgan Davies

Overall I really enjoyed this book. I love that it keeps me guessing and isn't completely predictable. I do wish that the female character was a bit more... How do I say this... Umm she needs a little more umph I guess. This was the first audiobook I have ever listened to so it took some time to get used to the female narrator using male voices but I thought it was great.

Profile Avatar
daria miller

I absolutely enjoyed this book. The storyline was creative and not too over the top. However I am someone that does not like to wait. Had I known there'd be a third book I would have waited. That's how good it is...I can't wait!!!

Profile Avatar
Shelby Buttimer

Enjoyed this book for the most part. It's nothing deep, but still fun. The ending felt a bit dragged out, with America wavering between her two suitors, as if the author could think how else to prolong the book, and I got a bit impatient with her. Here's hoping the second book doesn't drag out her indecision even further. Narration rather detracted from the book, I thought. The reader read in a flat monotone, and there were a couple times when she hadn't adequately conveyed that the book was moving on to a new section, leaving me confused and having to go back and listen again. The men's voices sounded, frankly, a bit silly.

Profile Avatar
Susan Elj

I Loved this book and could not put it down! Waiting for book #2

Profile Avatar
Jennifer Zienta

Interesting cross between Cinderella and Bachelorette. I am looking foward to book #2.

1 book added to cart
Subtotal
$24.99
View Cart