Sorcerer to the Crown

Unabridged Audiobook Join an Audiobook Club to get this book!

Written By: Zen Cho

Narrated By: Jenny Sterlin

Date: September 2015

Duration: 13 hours 11 minutes

Summary:

STORY The Royal Society of Unnatural Philosophers, one of the most respected organizations throughout all of England, has long been tasked with maintaining magic within His Majesty's lands. But lately, the once proper institute has fallen into disgrace, naming an altogether unsuitable gentleman-a freed slave who doesn't even have a familiar-as their Sorcerer Royal, and allowing England's once profuse stores of magic to slowly bleed dry. At least they haven't stooped so low as to allow women to practice what is obviously a man's profession. At his wit's end, Zacharias Wythe, Sorcerer Royal of the Unnatural Philosophers and eminently proficient magician, ventures to the border of Fairyland to discover why England's magical stocks are drying up. But when his adventure brings him in contact with a most unusual comrade, a woman with immense power and an unfathomable gift, he sets on a path which will alter the nature of sorcery in all of Britain-and the world at large. The first in a trilogy, SORCEROR TO THE CROWN will appeal to fans of THE NIGHT CIRCUS and JONATHAN STRANGE & MR NORRELL. QUOTES 'An enchanting cross between Georgette Heyer and Susanna Clarke, full of delights and surprises. Zen Cho unpins the edges of the canvas and throws them wide.'-Naomi Novik, New York Times bestselling author of the Temeraire novels 'A delightful and enchanting novel that uses sly wit and assured style to subvert expectations while it always, unfailingly, entertains. I loved it!' -Kate Elliott, author of the Spiritwalker series 'A deliciously true tale of politics and power in a charming, cruel world-it demands and deserves to be read again and again. Cho has humor and flair to match Pratchett and Heyer plus her own marvelous style.'-Karen Lord, author of The Best of All Possible Worlds AUTHOR Zen Cho was a 2013 finalist for the John W. Campbell Award for Best New Writer and has been nominated for the Pushcart Prize. She lives in London.

Genres:

  • Adriana B.

    Wonderful story, great message, excellent narrator, beautiful language.

  • Lesley B.

    Nice easy listen. I’ve come across Jenny Sterlin in other books and rate her as a narrator. The tale is in an unknown time but all the old prejudices are there, nicely handled though and satisfactory ending.

  • Amandasuth@me.com

    This was beautifully written, it reads like Jane Austen and it’s light and fun despite the Regency era values.

Sorcerer to the Crown

by Zen Cho

has successfully been added to your shopping cart

Sorcerer to the Crown, Zen Cho
Sorcerer to the Crown, Zen Cho
This title is due for release on September 1, 2015.

Enter your email below to be notified as soon as it is available!

By clicking "Notify Me" you consent to receiving electronic marketing communications from Audiobooks.com. You will be able to unsubscribe at any time.

Already a member? Log In to add this title to your wishlist.
Sorcerer to the Crown, Zen Cho
This title is due for release on September 1, 2015
We'll send you an email as soon as it is available!

Already a member?
Log in to add this title in your wishlist
Sorcerer to the Crown, Zen Cho
Please Log in and add this title to your wishlist.
Sorcerer to the Crown, Zen Cho

We will send you an email as soon as this title is available.