The Cruel Stars

Written by:
John Birmingham
Narrated by:
Morgan Hallett

Unabridged Audiobook

Ratings
Book
54
Narrator
17
Release Date
August 2019
Duration
13 hours 57 minutes
Summary
With a ruthless sect of humanity intent on wiping out their species, five intrepid heroes must think like their enemies in this epic sci-fi adventure for fans of The Expanse and Battlestar Galactica. The galaxy was once terrorized by the Sturm, a group of 'species purists' intent on destroying any human with genetic or cybernetic enhancements. Fashioning themselves as the one true 'Human Republic,' the Sturm cut a bloody swath across the stars, killing billions before finally being defeated and driven into the far reaches of Dark Space. Centuries of peace bred complacency. Everyone believed the Sturm had died out in the Dark. They were wrong. The enemy has returned and, with a brutal and decisive attack, knocks out almost all of humanity's defenses. Now on the brink of annihilation, humankind's only hope is a few brave souls who survived the initial attack: Commander Lucinda Hardy, thrust into uncertain command of the Royal Armadalen Navy's only surviving warship. Booker3, a soldier of Earth, sentenced to die for treason, whose time on death row is cut short when the Sturm attack his prison compound. Princess Alessia, a young royal of the Montanblanc Corporation, forced to flee when her home planet is overrun and her entire family executed. Sephina L'trel, the leader of an outlaw band who must call on all of her criminal skills to resist the invasion. And, finally, Admiral Frazer McLennan, the infamous hero of the first war with the Sturm hundreds of years ago, who hopes to rout his old foes once and for all-or die trying. These five flawed, reluctant heroes must band together to prevail against a relentless enemy and near-impossible odds. For if they fail, the future itself is doomed.
Reviews
Profile Avatar
Anonymous

absolutely amazing story.

Profile Avatar
Gary M.

The author does a great job of bringing the characters to life. It’s a good story with a rapid fire climax.

Profile Avatar
Benjamin Mendez

Slow start, I was a little lost in the set up, but as the story gained momentum, I was sucked in. Really enjoyed this one.

Profile Avatar
Todd W.

The story was a slow start. A lot to keep up with but once the characters evolved it ended up being one of the best audio books I’ve purchased. I hate I have to wait a year for the next installment.

Profile Avatar
Charles B.

I was very pleasantly surprised by this book! I couldn't stop listening once it got going! the narrator was sensational!

The Cruel Stars
This title is due for release on August 20, 2019.

Enter your email below to be notified as soon as it is available!

By clicking "Notify Me" you consent to receiving electronic marketing communications from Audiobooks.com. You will be able to unsubscribe at any time.

Already a member? Log In to add this title to your wishlist.
The Cruel Stars
This title is due for release on August 20, 2019
We'll send you an email as soon as it is available!

Already a member?
Log in to add this title in your wishlist
The Cruel Stars
Please Log in and add this title to your wishlist.
The Cruel Stars

We will send you an email as soon as this title is available.

1 book added to cart
Subtotal
$24.99
View Cart