The Winemaker's Wife


Unabridged Audiobook

Ratings
Book
87
Narrator
32
Release Date
August 2019
Duration
11 hours 33 minutes
Summary
“Love and betrayal, forgiveness and redemption combine in a heady tale of the ever present past” (Pam Jenoff, New York Times bestselling author) set amid the champagne vineyards of northern France during the darkest days of World War II. Perfect for fans of Kristin Hannah’s The Nightingale and Julia Kelly’s The Light Over London.

Champagne, 1940: Inès has just married Michel, the owner of storied champagne house Maison Chauveau, when the Germans invade. As the danger mounts, Michel turns his back on his marriage to begin hiding munitions for the Résistance. Inès fears they’ll be exposed, but for Céline, half-Jewish wife of Chauveau’s chef de cave, the risk is even greater—rumors abound of Jews being shipped east to an unspeakable fate.

When Céline recklessly follows her heart in a desperate bid for happiness, and Inès makes a dangerous mistake with a Nazi collaborator, they risk the lives of those they love—and the champagne house that ties them together.

New York, 2019: Liv Kent has just lost everything when her eccentric French grandmother shows up unannounced, insisting on a trip to France. But the older woman has an ulterior motive—and a tragic, decades-old story to share. When past and present finally collide, Liv finds herself on a road to salvation that leads right to the caves of the Maison Chauveau.

A spellbinding and exceptional tale of love, courage, and betrayal, “once you start reading this moving novel, you will not be able to put it down until you reach the last page” (Armando Lucas Correa, author of The German Girl).
Reviews
Profile Avatar
Jesisca W.

A beautiful story of historical fiction. Combining champagne production, war and a love triangle. My only issue was with the reader for the part of Celine. Their performance was not at the same level as the other two readers.

Profile Avatar
Anonymous

I liked one of the narrators. The other one was kind of robotic in the way she read. It was hard for me because I found myself thinking one of the characters wasn’t very intelligent due to the way the voice came across. This is not accurate so it was distracting for me and took away from my enjoyment of the book a little bit

Profile Avatar
Thelma Jean

Humorous and characters were interesting surprising with twists that just wanted to shake them and tell them to wake up.

Profile Avatar
Anonymous

I couldn’t stop listening! This book was so well written and the characters were perfectly imperfect.

Profile Avatar
beckylmartin

The narrator for Celine about ruined this book. WHY did the producers let her read Ines as ditsy (when she was just self absorbed) and, worse, use an Asian accent instead of French?! The story was just OK. There were several frustrating and contrived points to the plot (2/3 of my Book Club was frustrated with individual characters and/or the author), but that narrator sure didn't help.

Profile Avatar
Sharon B.

Although I wanted to dislike characters in this story, I couldn’t help but identify with each of them. Great read, tear-jerker - I would read more from this author.

Profile Avatar
Ruthless621

Bittersweet. Frustrating. Intriguing. A wonderfully told story of life, loss, love and redemption.

Profile Avatar
Sheila H.

Great book with a fantastic story line

Profile Avatar
Anonymous

Enjoyed every minute

Profile Avatar
Stacy S.

Loved this book!!!! Enjoyed the readers’ accents, but their tone put me to sleep a few times

Profile Avatar
Anonymous

This book captured my attention from the start. Moving story that touched me deeply. I have read several of the author’s books and I am never disappointed.

Profile Avatar
Anonymous

Great read/listen

Profile Avatar
Karen R.

Excellent!

Profile Avatar
Anonymous

Enjoyed this book

Profile Avatar
Anne B.

Liked the story. I did not like the narrator taking a deeper voice to sound like a man or an old person.

1 book added to cart
Subtotal
$26.99
View Cart